Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation
Office of the Director (OD)
design element
National Medal of Science
Image of National Medal of Science
Medal of Science Home
Nomination Information
President's Committee
Natl. Medal of Technology and Innovation
Natl. Science & Technology Medals Foundation
Privacy Act
Office of the Director
Office of the Director (OD)
Office of Cyberinfrastructure (OCI)
Office of Diversity and Inclusion (ODI)
Office of the General Counsel (OGC)
Office of Integrative Activities (OIA)
   - EPSCoR Office
Office of International Science and Engineering (OISE)
Office of Legislative & Public Affairs (OLPA)
Office of Polar Programs (OPP)

National Medal of Science

Call for Nominations - 2012 National Medal of Science

The National Science Foundation is now accepting nominations for the 2012 National Medal of Science. Nominations are due on March 31, 2012.

Please review the NEW nomination information and submit your nominations through FastLane. We are especially interested in identifying women, members of minority groups, and persons with disabilities for consideration.

Please note: if you are submitting on behalf of a professional society, please contact Mayra Montrose at or 703-292-4757.

A PDF version of the call for nominations is available here: nsf_2012nationalmedalofscience_callfornominations_120127.pdf.

President Obama Announces Recipients of the 2010 National Medal of Science

On September 27, President Obama announced seven distinguished scientists as recipients of the 2010 National Medal of Science. The White House press release is available at

The 2010 awards ceremony is also available in high definition on YouTube at In addition the the ceremony itself, this video includes additional footage of the audience as the President leaves the ceremony.


The National Medal of Science was established by the 86th Congress in 1959 as a Presidential Award to be given to individuals "deserving of special recognition by reason of their outstanding contributions to knowledge in the physical, biological, mathematical, or engineering sciences." In 1980 Congress expanded this recognition to include the social and behavioral sciences.

A Committee of 12 scientists and engineers is appointed by the President to evaluate the nominees for the Award. Since its establishment, the National Medal of Science has been awarded to 468 distinguished scientists and engineers whose careers spanned decades of research and development. The recipients database from 1962 to the present can be searched at /od/nms/recipients.cfm.


For further information concerning the Award program or nomination process, contact:

Mayra N. Montrose
Office of Integrative Activities
National Science Foundation
4201 Wilson Boulevard, Rm. 1270
Arlington, VA 22230
Phone: 703-292-8040
Fax: 703-292-9040

Email this pagePrint this page

Back to Top of page