Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Board
dividing line
Members by Term
dividing line
Chairmen and Vice Chairmen
dividing line
Former Members
dividing line
The Nomination Process
dividing line
Group Photo
dividing line
NSB Staff
dividing line
Contact NSB
dividing line
NSB Site Map
dividing line
Go to NSF  Go to

Members by Term

Terms expire May 10, 2014

  • Ray M. Bowen - President Emeritus; Texas A&M University; Visiting Distinguished Professor, Rice University
  • France A. Cordova - President Emeritus; Purdue University
  • Esin Gulari - Dean of Engineering and Science; Clemson University
  • G. P. (Bud) Peterson - President, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Douglas D. Randall - Professor Emeritus and Thomas Jefferson Fellow; and Director Emeritus Interdisciplinary Plant Group; University of Missouri-Columbia
  • Diane L. Souvaine - Professor of Computer Science; Tufts University
  • Arnold F. Stancell - Emeritus Professor and Turner Leadership Chair; Georgia Institute of Technology, School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Claude M. Steele - Dean, School of Education; Stanford University

Terms expire May 10, 2016

  • Dan E. Arvizu - NSB Chairman; Director and Chief Executive; National Renewable Energy Laboratory
  • Kelvin K. Droegemeier - NSB Vice Chairman; Vice President for Research; Regents' Professor of Meteorology Weathernews Chair; Emeritus University of Oklahoma
  • Bonnie Bassler - Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, Squibb Professor of Molecular Biology; Princeton University
  • Alan Leshner - Chief Executive Officer and Executive Publisher, Science; American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • W. Carl Lineberger - Fellow of JILA, E. U. Condon Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, University of Colorado
  • Anneila I. Sargent - Benjamin M. Rosen Professor of Astronomy; Vice President for Student Affairs; California Institute of Technology
  • Robert J. Zimmer - President; University of Chicago


  • Mark R. Abbott - Dean and Professor; College of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences; Oregon State University
  • Camilla P. Benbow - Patricia and Rodes Hart Dean of Education and Human Development; Peabody College; Vanderbilt University
  • Arthur Bienenstock - Professor Emeritus of Photon Science; Stanford University
  • John T. Bruer - President; The James S. McDonnell Foundation
  • Patricia D. Galloway - CEO; Pegasus Global Holding, Inc.
  • José-Marie Griffiths - Vice President for Academic Affairs and University Professor; Bryant University
  • Arthur K. Reilly - Retired Senior Director; Strategic Technology Policy; Cisco Systems, Inc.
  • Thomas N. Taylor - Roy A. Roberts Distinguished Professor; Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology; Curator of Paleobotany in the Natural History Museum and Biodiversity Research Center; The University of Kansas
  • Richard F. Thompson - Keck Professor of Psychology and Biological Sciences; University of Southern California

Ex-Officio Member


For more information about file formats used on the NSF site, please see the Plug-ins and Viewers page.

Print this page Back to Top of page
  NSB Home | Web Policies & Important Links | Privacy | FOIA | Help | Contact NSB | Contact NSB Webmaster | NSB Site Map  
National Science Board
The National Science Board, 4201 Wilson Boulevard, Arlington, Virginia 22230, USA
Tel: (703) 292-7000, FIRS: (800) 877-8339 | TDD: (800) 281-8749
Last Updated:
Nov 12, 2010
Text Only

\ Last Updated: Apr 30, 2009
        <td class=